The Frisco

Let me start by saying there are changes coming to the blog.  Lets start with regular posts, which I in particular have faulted on recently.  Also, there is a new category that will get periodic updates.  Cocktail Hour.

My summer office

Kelsi has been diligently studying for the bar.  I have been studying a different type of bar.  There have been a few recent experiments, most of which have turned out well, but I figured I would open with a classic.  At least for me.  I discovered the Frisco from a New York Times article a few years ago.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/29/dining/29tipsy.html?pagewanted=all

It has since been a reliable way to end any day or start any evening. And the recipe is

The fixings


Frisco

2 oz. bourbon or rye whiskey

1/2 oz. Benedictine

1/2 oz. lemon juice

It was one of the original cocktails at the turn of the century but never regained popularity after prohibition ended.  So here’s to bringing it back.  Its light, summery, and perfectly balanced.  Did I mention it’s delicious?  Enjoy.

The reward
2 thoughts on “The Frisco

  1. I applaud your choice of drink, but I wanted to warn you that vermouth is a fortified wine, and it must be stored in the refrigerator, preferably vacuum-sealed with a wine saver: http://www.amazon.com/Vacu-Vin-3-Piece-Saver-Stopper/dp/B00004SAF4

    I have encountered many people who believe that they hate vermouth, and I think most of the time this owes to the fact that they are used to drinking vermouth that has gone off because it was improperly stored, or very old. Even refrigerated, vacuum-sealed vermouth only keeps for a month or two at most.

    1. Awesome tip to know. Thanks. So far ours still tastes great. Sadly, it doesn’t fit in our fridge. But we’ll keep drinking and try to make room!

Leave a Reply

