Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Texas has two seasons: Warm and Hot. We may hit the occasional freeze in the south, and there are occasionally days that require a light jacket, but I certainly wouldn’t call it a full season. Therefore, this is my first real fall, so I decided I should welcome it in properly. Sitting in front of an open window, a chill in the air, and a hot cup of coffee in my hand, all I wanted was pumpkin. After a very little browsing, I didn’t come across a pumpkin oatmeal recipe I was really excited about. So I decided to make my own, and to share it with you.

Bonus: Its chock full of healthy stuff like omega 3s, fiber, and protein. Double bonus: It doesn’t taste healthy.

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 Tblsp chia seeds
  • Cinnamon for topping
  • scoop of almond butter for topping

In a small pot over medium heat, heat oats, almond milk, pumpkin pie spice, and pumpkin puree. When heated to a boil, add chia feeds, and maple syrup. Cook for about 5 minutes until liquid is absorbed. The oatmeal will be particularly thick because of the chia seeds.

When fully cooked, sprinkle with cinnamon and top with a spoonful of almond butter. Enjoy hot and with a perfect cup of coffee…or pumpkin spice latte. : )

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

